Save on your hotel - www.hotelscombined.com
Home » Historical Places » Double Six Monument At Sembulan

Double Six Monument At Sembulan

Posted at December 7th, 2011 | Categorised in Historical Places


On June 6th, 1976, an airplane carrying Sabah’s fifth Chief Minister, Tun Mohd. Fuad Stephens and six other State ministers crashed, killing all on board. The plane, operated by Sabah Air, coming from Labuan, crashed in the sub-district of Sembulan in Kota Kinabalu upon approaching Kota Kinabalu International Airport. The real reason for the crash remains a mystery, and the original report on the incident remains classified.

The Double Six Monument

The tragedy is forever remembered as Double Six Tragedy or Double Six Crash .The Double Six Monument (Tugu Peringatan Double Six) was erected on the exact spot of the fatal crash in Sembulan, marking a significant tragedy in the history of Sabah.

The Double Six Monument

The Double Six Monument back

Tugu Peringatan Double Six

The Monument is close to City Centre, i.e about 5 minutes drive only. It is surrounded by Grace View apartments which adjacent to Sutera Harbour Resort.

Kota Kinabalu Travel Guide

No comment for Double Six Monument At Sembulan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Related Post to Double Six Monument At Sembulan


Petagas War Memorial

Posted at December 5, 2011

Located in Petagas, Kota Kinabalu (about 10 minutes’ drive from the city centre), Petagas War Memorial was built in remembrance of those who lost... Read More


Padang Merdeka

Posted at April 26, 2011

The historic Padang Merdeka has seen many sporting matches and parades during its century-old history, as well as being the site of the historic... Read More

Atkinson Clock Tower

Atkinson Clock Tower

Posted at November 10, 2010

Atkinson Clock Tower was built in memory of Francis George Atkinson - the popular first District Officer of Jesselton during the British North Borneo... Read More

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons